Jacinda Gets Bugs: A Review

Apparently the Spinstress is an insect blogger now.

No sooner had I finished complaining about moths (existing, in general), than I discovered that Jacinda Arden, Prime Minister of New Zealand, has finally really made it in life. She’s had a bug named after her!

Hemiandrus jacinda – a cricket.

It’s flightless, so it’s already 400 times better than a moth. In fact, if you ask me, moths should be abolished immediately and replaced with Jacindas. I give this insect 4/5. This is the maximum score, as the only way to achieve the final point is to not be an insect.

Better than any moth.

This is not even the first insect named after Jacinda Arden. She’s also lent her moniker to a beetle and an ant. Her spokesman has said she is “honoured” to be constantly likened to creepy-crawlies. I think she’s very, very polite.

Now this one is…I wouldn’t be happy to see it crawling across my kitchen floor, put it that way. I think it still deserves a solid 3/5 though, for conforming so perfectly the stereotype of a beetle. This beetle knows what it’s about.

Crematogaster jacindae – an ant.

This unflattering picture of the jacinda ant is from its AntWiki (!) page. Unlike the other two, it clearly doesn’t have a social media manager. It looked borderline cute in profile, but in this picture, its bum looks like one of those fat spiders that insist on hovering about doorframes. I therefore regrettably have to lower its score to 3/5.

On the off-chance that there are any groundbreaking entomologists reading this, I would like to petition you, with the utmost respect, to name your Big Discoveries after some other politician. For example, any of them.

Poor Jacinda will soon tire of issuing press releases.

One thought on “Jacinda Gets Bugs: A Review

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started