A-Z Challenge: Haiku

I like haiku. The snappy structure almost forces anything you put in it to act profound.


Haiku, you imbue
Anything with poetry
How clever are you.

You can write ten of them in the time it takes to cobble together one Shakespearean sonnet.


Everything great starts
Atop a slippery slope
Just let yourself roll.

They’re supposed to be about seasons, really.

Scotland in spring; grey.
Alba summer; azure.
Autumn, winter - dark.

Hey, I didn’t say 10 good ones!

This is my H for the A-Z Blogging Challenge 2022.  You can find out more and sign up here.  My theme is poetry – a form for every letter of the alphabet. Yesterday was ghazal.

If you want to read more mad haiku, you could try my guide to solitary bees.

11 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge: Haiku

  1. There is a whole art to haiku that seems to escape me. Tanka, on the other hand (5-7-5-7-7), suits me quite well. Perhaps I’m just too wordy. I can’t get it across meaningfully in 17 syllables. But give me 14 more and I’m golden! *laugh*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started