A-Z Challenge: Sonnet

Late! I know.

Yesterday, I literally worked all day and had no time for poetry. Luckily, I should be able to catch up, because this sonnet was already written and I might still manage something beginning with t later!

A sonnet has 14 lines of two syllables, ababcdcdefefgg. I am no Shakespeare, but I quite enjoy the form. They’ve just started to hatch, too.

An Ode to Solitary Bees

When sun decides to grace this hemisphere,

You're not the only one that comes to life.

Suppose a steady buzz should greet your ear,

try not to cause its maker too much strife.

Granted, they bear weapons as deterrent -

you want them to be total masochists?

Their yellow-black does not signal intent;

the lion's share of bees are pacifists.

Some bees are single; some bees live alone,

but they'll still buzz all summer busily.

Serving no queen who sits a honey-throne;

they're working for themselves intrepidly.

They pollinate our melon and kiwi;

So if you're feeling fruity thank a bee!


This is my S for the A-Z Blogging Challenge 2022.  My theme is poetry – a form for every letter of the alphabet. R was Rime Couee.

4 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge: Sonnet

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started